175th Anniversary Events


Special 175th Anniversary MindGames – History Edition

This year features a special edition of MindGames focused on historical questions related to psychiatry.

  • Saturday, May 18, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
  • Room 21, Moscone North

Celebrate APA's 175th Anniversary with two back-to-back MindGames competitions at the Annual Meeting. The first is a special 175th Anniversary Edition followed by the traditional game.

The special anniversary edition, which will focus on the history of APA and related topics, will feature three teams of prominent APA members and leaders competing with each other.

These are the three teams:

  • The Dorothea Dixiformidables: Past APA President John McIntyre, M.D., past APA Trustee Jeffrey Geller, M.D., and past Assembly Speaker Albert Gaw, M.D.
  • Walk in Beauty: Past APA Assembly Speakers Theresa Miskimen, M.D., and Dale Walker, M.D., and past APA President John Talbott, M.D.
  • The Comeback Kids: Past APA Scientific Program Chair Geetha Jayaram, M.D., M.B.A., past President of the National Medical Association Rahn Bailey, M.D., and past Assembly Speaker and current Area 3 Trustee Roger Peele, M.D.

The three teams will compete by answering questions about APA history, notable psychiatrists, movies and other media throughout history that have involved psychiatry or psychiatrists, and important events in psychiatric history. As in the television game show “Jeopardy,” each test of knowledge is posed as an answer for which the first team that provides the correct question earns points. There will be two rounds of game play, followed by a final question.

Hosting both the anniversary edition and the resident competition is Art Walaszek, M.D., the residency training director at the University of Wisconsin Department of Psychiatry. The judges for both competitions will be past APA President Michelle Riba, M.D.; Richard Summers, M.D., senior residency advisor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania; and Marcy Verduin, M.D., assistant dean for students at the University of Central Florida College of Medicine.