Member Obituaries

In Memoriam

American Psychiatric Association honors the lives and legacies of its member psychiatrists and their contributions to mental health and psychiatry.

APA hosts member obituaries, submitted by contributors. View submitted obituaries for APA members below.

How to Submit an Obituary

Members' Obituaries

John P. “Seán” Callan, M.D. (1939-2021)

Bryce Templeton, M.D., M.Ed. (1932-2021)

Carola Eisenberg, M.D. (1917-2021)

Samuel Weiss, M.D. (1923-2020)

Hagop S. Akiskal, M.D. (1944-2021)

Arthur T. Meyerson, M.D. (1936-2021)

Rodrigo Muñoz, M.D. (1939-2020)

David Starrett, M.D. (1926-2020)

William B. Lukachko, M.D. (1929-2020)

Sharon K. Melnick, M.D. (1956-2020)

John Michael Ackerman, M.D. (1937-2020)

Eugene B. Feigelson, M.D. (1930-2020)

Lyle P. Christopherson, D.O. (1955-2019)


Psychiatric News publishes the names of members whose deaths were reported in a regular "In Memoriam" column. Below is a list of links to recent columns.

Contact Us

For questions regarding the submission of a member obituary, contact us at