2021 APA Election

Participate in the 2021 APA Election.

Slate of Candidates

The APA Nominating Committee, chaired by Bruce Schwartz, M.D., reports the following slate of candidates (in alphabetical order) for the 2021 Election. All candidates and supporters should review the updated Election Guidelines for 2021. For more information, email

The deadline for petition candidates is November 10, 2020.


  • Rebecca W. Brendel, M.D., J.D.
  • Jacqueline Maus Feldman, M.D.


  • Rahn K. Bailey, M.D.
  • Sandra M. DeJong, M.D., M.Sc.

Early Career Psychiatrist (ECP) Trustee

  • Elie G. Aoun, M.D., M.R.O.
  • Tanuja Gandhi, M.D.
  • Chandan Khandai, M.D., M.S.
  • Krysti (Lan Chi) Vo, M.D.

Minority/Underrepresented Representative (MUR) Trustee

  • Oscar E. Perez, M.D.
  • Felix Torres, M.D., M.B.A.

Area 1 Trustee 1

  • Eric M. Plakun, M.D.
  • Maureen Sayres Van Niel, M.D.

Area 4 Trustee 1

  • Theadia L. Carey, M.D., M.S.
  • Cheryl D. Wills, M.D.

Area 7 Trustee 1

  • Annette M. Matthews, M.D.
  • Mary Hasbah Roessel, M.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect (RFMTE) 2

  • Souparno Mitra, M.D.
  • Lindsay M. Poplinski, D.O.
  • Urooj Yazdani, M.D.
  1. Elected by eligible voters of their respective Area
  2. Elected by APA Resident-Fellow Members (RFMs)

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible voters are currently active voting members of the APA not designated as a Medical Student or International Member. Members interested in running for office should review the eligibility requirement.

View More

Election Guidelines

Election Guidelines, developed by the Elections Committee and approved by the Board of Trustees are intended to provide a level playing field for candidates. Campaigning by candidates and supporters begins when the slate of candidates is announced by November 1.


2021 Election Schedule
Nomination Deadline September 1
Slate of Candidates Announced By November 5
Deadline for Petition Candidates November 10
Voting Begins January 4
Voting Deadline February 1 at 11:59 p.m. ET
Election Results Mid-February TBD
Transition of Leadership May 5