2019 APA Election

View the 2019 APA Election Results.

2019 APA Election Results

Jeffrey Geller, M.D., M.P.H. 54.50%
Theresa Miskimen, M.D. 45.50%
Sandra DeJong, M.D., M.Sc. 40.60% 56.70%
Ramaswamy Viswanathan, M.D., D.M.Sc. 30.30% 43.30%
Jeffrey Akaka, M.D. 29.10%  
Minority/Underrepresented (MUR) Trustee
Rahn Kennedy Bailey, M.D. 59.90%
Robert Cabaj, M.D. 40.10%
Area 3 Trustee*
Kenneth Certa, M.D. 41.70% 54.60%
Roger Peele, M.D. 33.70% 45.40%
Barry K. Herman, M.D., M.M.M. 24.60%  
Area 6 Trustee
Melinda Young, M.D. 63.10%
Barbara Yates Weissman, M.D. 36.90%
Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect (RFMTE)*
Michael Mensah, M.D., M.P.H. 46% 54.50%
Lisa Harding, M.D. 35.20% 45.50%
Daniel Hart, M.D. 18.80%  

*A majority vote (>50%) is necessary in a three way contest. If a majority does not exist after tallying all first-choice votes, voters’ second-choice votes for the candidate with the least amount of first-choice votes are tallied and added to the remaining candidates’ tallies.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible voters are currently active voting members of the APA not designated as a Medical Student or International Member. Members interested in running for office should review the eligibility requirement.

View More

Election Guidelines

Election Guidelines, developed by the Elections Committee and approved by the Board of Trustees are intended to provide a level playing field for candidates. Campaigning by candidates and supporters begins when the slate of candidates is announced by November 1.


APA Elections

View information on how to participate in the 2019 APA Election.


2019 Election Schedule
Slate of Candidates Announced By November 1
Deadline for Petition Candidates November 15
Voting Begins January 2
Voting Deadline January 31 at 11:59 p.m. ET
Election Results Mid-February TBD