Skip to content

Council on Research

The Council on Research carries out activities to ensure that the substance and significance of research on mental health/illness remain integral parts of the APA mission and in the forefront of the national health agenda. The council embodies APA’s commitment to advance evidence-based psychiatric knowledge across a broad range of research fields and issues.

Highlights of Responsibilities

  • Recognize psychiatrist researchers who have made significant contributions to psychiatric knowledge and practice.
  • Establish task forces in response to emerging needs relevant to the council.
  • Advance evidence-based knowledge across a broad spectrum of issues, including but not limited to
    • Basic science
    • Clinical diagnosis and assessment
    • Treatment research
    • Research training
    • Health services
    • Prevention research
    • Research ethics


Council Members

  • Jonathan Alpert, M.D., Ph.D – Chair
  • Tami Benton, M.D.
  • Linda Carpenter, M.D.
  • Michael First, M.D.
  • Nina Kagruljac, M.D. (ASM)
  • Ned Kalin, M.D.
  • John Krystal, M.D.
  • Charles Nemeroff, M.D.
  • Carolyn Rodriguez, M.D., Ph.D
  • Naomi Simon, M.D.
  • Alik Widge, M.D, Ph.D.

Corresponding Members

  • Lisa Dixon, M.D.
  • C. Neill Epperson, M.D.
  • Alison Hwong, M.D.
  • Jordan Smoller, M.D.


  • William McDonald, M.D.


  • Alison Hwong, M.D., Ph.D. – Psychiatric Research Fellow
  • Hammad Khan, M.D. – SAMHSA Minority Fellow
  • Juan Molina, M.D. – SAMHSA Minority Fellow
  • Peter Na, M.D., M.P.H. – SAMHSA Minority Fellow
  • Ritvij Satodiya, M.D. – Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellow
  • Halide Turkozer, M.D. – Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellow
  • Sophia Walker, M.D. – Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellow
  • Margaret Wang, M.D. – APA/APAF Leadership Fellow
  • Heather Ward, M.D. – APA/APAF Leadership Fellow

Staff Liaison

Diana Clarke, [email protected]

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today