Skip to content

Committee on Psychiatric Dimensions of Disaster

The Committee on Psychiatric Dimensions of Disaster is charged to:

  • Recommend and encourage working local district liaisons for psychiatric responses to disasters, including those resulting from a range of human-generated and natural disaster events.
  • Assist the Medical Director’s Office in provision of consultation and identification of resources for local and national responses in times of national disasters.
  • Encourage greater visibility for psychiatry and psychiatrists in organized disaster relief efforts and support efforts that accomplish this goal.
  • Recommend liaisons with medical, academic, federal, state and local organizations and agencies to facilitate disaster mental health preparedness, response and recovery.
  • Identify experts to support future disasters (e.g., media contacts as well as volunteers) and connect them with Communications staff.
  • Act as a resource for educational and scientific materials and interventions to support affected communities, including persons with mental illness, in times of disasters.
  • Provide consultation to leadership in their efforts to support members, district branches, and persons with mental illness.

Staff Liaison

Committee Members

  • James West, M.D., DFAPAChairperson
  • Rajdip Barman, M.D., FAPA
  • Leslie Gise, M.D., DLFAPA
  • Katherine Koh, M.D.
  • Andrew McLean, M.D., FAPA 
  • Robert Rohrbaugh, M.D.
  • Grant Brenner, M.D., DFAPAConsultant
  • Elizabeth Haase, M.D., DLFAPAConsultant

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today