Skip to content
Notification Image

New Online Learning Center to Launch Summer 2023.

APA and SMI Adviser's enhanced Learning Center will improve user experience.

Learn more here >

Council on Medical Education and Lifelong Learning

The Council on Medical Education and Lifelong Learning monitors emerging issues and supports the development of resources and programs for psychiatric education in the United States at every level. These efforts include premedical education, medical education, graduate medical education for residents and fellows in psychiatry (both basic education and subspecialty areas), psychiatry aspects of graduate medical education for other medical specialties, and postgraduate continuing medical education and lifelong learning. The council advises and assists APA’s Division of Education in the development, implementation, and promotion of its education programs and initiatives.

Highlights of Responsibilities

  • Oversee planning, coordinating, and evaluating all continuing medical education efforts and activities of APA.
  • Identify emerging issues related to undergraduate medical education and assist in developing effective, appropriate psychiatric education for all future physicians.
  • Support medical student recruitment into psychiatry.
  • Provide recommendations regarding all aspects of graduate medical education in psychiatry, including the development of the highest quality psychiatric training program planning, curriculum, and career development; and residency teaching and interface with medical student education, primary care, and other medical specialty education and post-residency fellowship training.
  • Support APA's response to proposed changes in the ACGME Essentials and the Special Requirements for Psychiatry and subspecialty programs.
  • Work alongside other APA components and divisions on issues related to all levels of psychiatric education.


  • Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee
  • Scientific Program Committee of The Mental Health Services Conference
  • Subcommittee on Joint Sponsorship of Continuing Medical Education
  • Committee on Innovation
  • Committee on Well-being and Burnout
  • Vestermark Award Committee


  • Caucus of Maintenance of Certification

Council Members

  • Eindra Khin Khin, M.D. – Chair
  • Rashi Aggarwal, M.D.
  • Brigette Bailey, M.D.
  • Steven Fischel, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Howard Forman, M.D. (ECP)
  • Marshall Forstein, M.D.
  • Danielle Hairston, M.D.
  • Eitan Kimchi, M.D.
  • Russell Pet, M.D. (ASM)
  • Mark Rapaport, M.D.
  • Art Walaszek, M.D.

Corresponding Members

  • John Spollen, M.D.


  • Erick Hung, M.D.


  • Larry Faulkner, M.D. – ABPN
  • Lisa Fore Arcand, M.D. – ADMSEP
  • Lewis Krain, M.D. - AAP
  • Mike Travis, M.D. - AADPRT
  • Kari Wolf, M.D. - AACDP


  • Simone Bernstein
  • Sarah Hanafi
  • Fiona Fonseca
  • Muniza Majoka
  • Desta Lissanu
  • Rohit Abraham
  • Ellen Kim
  • Michael Sun
  • Barbara Trejo Ortega
  • Alexander Chang
  • Kevin Ing

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today