Anita Everett Takes Office as APA President


ARLINGTON, Va. May 25, 2017 – Anita Everett, M.D., began her one-year term as President of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) at the conclusion of the APA Annual Meeting in San Diego on May 24. At the same time Altha Stewart, M.D., began her term as APA President-elect.

At the APA Annual Meeting Opening Session, Everett emphasized her commitment to helping APA members in their efforts to provide the best possible care to their patients. Among Everett’s priorities as APA president are:

  • Ensuring access to behavioral health for all Americans and highlighting innovations in mental health care and delivery.
  • Supporting physician wellness and resilience
  • Establishing APA as the "go-to" resource for all American psychiatrists
  • Promoting effective community treatment, such as evidence-based treatment for first episode psychosis, supported employment and housing and day programs for people with serious mental illness.

“One of our aspirations as a profession must be improved access to quality psychiatric care,” Everett said. “Increased use of telepsychiatry and effective collaboration with primary care physicians can help increase access. New research and innovations, such as advances in interventions for first episode psychosis, give me great hope that we can provide more effective care to our patients.”

Everett is currently the Chief Medical Officer at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). She was previously Division Director of Johns Hopkins Community and General Psychiatry, Bayview Campus, and associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore. She is also past president of the American Association of Community Psychiatrists and the Maryland Psychiatric Society. Everett has held numerous leadership roles at the APA, including trustee-at-large on the APA Board of Trustees and chair of the APA Task Force on Healthcare Reform 2015.

Other APA leadership taking office after the APA Annual Meeting include:


Philip Muskin, M.D., M.A.

Minority/Underrepresented Representative (M/UR) Trustee

Ramaswamy Viswanathan, M.D., D.M.Sc

Area 2 Trustee

Vivian Pender, M.D.

Area 5 Trustee

Jenny Boyer, M.D., Ph.D., J.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect

Tanuja Gandhi, M.D.

The American Psychiatric Association is the oldest medical association in the country founded in 1844. The APA is also the largest psychiatric association in the world with more than 37,000 physician members specializing in the diagnosis, treatment, prevention and research of mental illnesses. APA’s vision is to ensure access to quality psychiatric diagnosis and treatment.

Media Contacts

Glenn O'Neal, 202-459-9732

Erin Connors, 202-609-7113