Skip to content

The 2023 Scientific Program Committee

The Scientific Program Committee, overseen by APA's Office of Scientific Program within the Division of Education, evaluates abstract submissions for the Mental Health Services Conference and curates the scientific program. Representing psychiatrists and other mental health professionals, including psychologists, nurses, and social workers, this year's multidisciplinary committee is instrumental in recommending and assembling key invited speakers, as well as new offerings, to produce the conference's high-caliber educational content.

APA President

Petros Levounis, M.D. – Psychiatrist

Program Chair

Lawrence Malak, M.D. – Psychiatrist


  • Curtis Adams, M.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Amir Ahuja, M.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Margaret Balfour, M.D., Ph.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Robert Cotes, M.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Shalini Dutta, M.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Hany El-Adle – Medical Student 
  • Margaret Emerson, D.N.P., A.P.R.N. – Nurse Practitioner, Advance Practice Registered Nurse
  • Aude Henin, Ph.D. – Psychologist
  • K Sonu Gaind, M.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Lena Green, D.S.W., L.C.S.W. – Social Worker
  • Dwight E. Kemp, M.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Christopher T. Lim, M.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Francis Lu, M.D., D.L.F.A.P.A. – Psychiatrist
  • Octavio Martinez, M.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Isabel Norian, M.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Madhavi Prakash, M.D., Ph.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Anna Ratzliff, M.D., Ph.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Lisa Razzano, Ph.D., C.P.R.P. – Psychologist
  • Donna Rolin, Ph.D., A.P.R.N. – Advanced Practice Registered Nurse
  • Karthik Sivashanker, M.D., M.P.H., C.P.P.S. – Psychiatrist
  • Monica Taylor-Desir, M.D. – Psychiatrist 
  • Margarita Valladeres, M.D. – Psychiatrist
  • Erik Vanderlip, M.D., M.P.H – Psychiatrist

APA Administration

  • Saul Levin, M.D., M.P.A., FRCP-E, FRCPsych
    CEO and Medical Director
  • Vishal Madaan, M.D.
    Deputy Medical Director and Chief, Division of Education
  • Austin DeMarco
    Interim Director, Office of Scientific Programs, Division of Education
  • Maggie Dougherty
    Program Manager, Office of Scientific Programs, Division of Education
  • Brittany Bullamore
    Project Coordinator, Office of Scientific Programs, Division of Education

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today