Our Team

In addition to senior psychiatric researchers, our co-chairs, Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD, and Steven Siegel, MD, PhD, work closely with our Program/Scientific Director Diana Clarke, PhD, and Program Manager Laura Thompson, MS at the American Psychiatric Association to plan and implement this program each year.

Charles Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D.

Program Chair

Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry at University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School. Director, Institute for Early Life Adversity Project.

Steven Siegel, M.D., Ph.D.

Program Vice Chair

Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavior Sciences at the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine.

Diana Clarke, Ph.D.

Program Director & Scientific Coordinator

Deputy Director of Research and Senior Research Statistician/Epidemiologist at the American Psychiatric Association. Assistant Professor, Department of Mental Health, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Laura Thompson, M.S.

Program Manager

Research and Administrative Assistant at the American Psychiatric Association.

International Program Contributors

The enhanced international component of the Colloquium is due in large part to the efforts of Drs. Maria Oquendo and Bernardo Ng. International participants are sponsored by their institution, country’s psychiatric association, country's branch of the Society of Biological Psychiatry (SOBP) or are self-funded.

Maria A. Oquendo, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Oquendo is the Professor and Chairman of Psychiatry at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Oquendo is internationally recognized for her neurological studies on suicidal behavior. Her areas of expertise include the diagnosis, pharmacologic treatment and neurobiology of major depression and bipolar disorder, with an emphasis on suicidal behavior and global mental health. Additionally, she serves as president of the International Academy of Suicide Research; vice president of the Board of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention; and previously served as the president of the American Society of Hispanic Psychiatry.

Bernardo Ng, M.D.

In his role as Chair on the Council on International Psychiatry at the American Psychiatric Association, Dr. Ng collaborates with international organizations and associations to promote the involvement of international members and encourage their participation in the Colloquium. Additionally, the Council on International Psychiatry works to facilitate understanding of problems facing international psychiatrists and their patients.

Drs. Nemeroff and Clarke actively connect and communicate with members of international branches of SOBP and Psychiatric Associations worldwide. Their work helps to secure funding and opportunities for early career psychiatrists outside of the U.S. and Canada.

Important Dates


Applications Due by 11:59 p.m. EST


Award Notification


Research Colloquium

The dedication and enthusiasm you bring to scientific questions and psychiatric research will help make a difference not only for you as a clinician-researcher but for psychiatric patients as well."

Saul Levin, M.D., M.P.A., CEO and Medical Director, American Psychiatric Association