Vestermark Psychiatry Educator Award

The Vestermark Psychiatry Educator Award recognizes excellence, leadership, and creativity in the field of psychiatric education and is given annually to a psychiatric educator for outstanding contributions to the education and development of psychiatrists. The award was established in 1969 in memory of Seymour Vestermark, M.D., chief of the National Institute of Mental Health Training Branch from 1948 to 1959 and an authority in the field of professional mental health education. The award concentrates on the field of psychiatric education in its broadest context, with special emphasis on preparation of teachers, use of new educational tools, and improved teaching techniques in the field of mental health.


  • Council on Medical Education
  • Vestermark Award Committee

Winner will present an award lecture on an educational topic during the Annual Meeting


Contributions to medical education (type and extent of educational activities, including):

  • Medical student education
  • Graduate education
  • Continuing education
  • Interdisciplinary programs
  • Research in education

Innovations in education:

  • Improved teaching methods
  • Improved or new methods and strategies in evaluation
  • Exploration in new and/or neglected areas
  • Relation of education to service delivery and/or labor use

Administrative educational contributions, e.g., leadership in educational components of local and national academic organizations and/or institutions:

  • Publications related to education
  • Duration and intensity of commitment to psychiatric education
  • Peer evaluation (comments of colleagues, supervisors, etc.), student evaluation, and other awards, prizes, or commendations received

Nomination Requirements

Complete Nomination Form


June 1, 2020

Award Notification

January 2021

Award Presentation

Presented at APA's Annual Meeting

Contact Information

Previous Winners

  • 2020
  • Jeffrey Lyness, M.D.
  • 2019
  • Alan K. Louie, M.D.
  • 2018
  • Nyapati R. Rao, M.D.
  • 2017
  • Sandra Sexson, M.D.
  • 2016
  • Robert E. Hales, M.D.
  • John H. Coverdale, M.D.
  • 2015
  • Geraldine S. Fox, M.D., M.H.P.E.

APA Awards

Each year APA honors individuals for career recognition, lifetime service, outstanding research, and other categories that improve the lives of people with mental illness.

Award Recipients

View previous recipients of APA awards.

View More

View All

2020 Annual Meeting
  • Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Sat,  Apr  25 - Wed,  Apr  29

APA Will Not Hold Its 2020 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Plans to Support the Learning Needs of Psychiatrists Through Online Education

2021 Annual Meeting
  • Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Sat,  May  01 - Wed,  May  05