McGavin Award for Prevention

The Agnes Purcell McGavin Award for Prevention, established in 1964, recognizes a child and adolescent psychiatrist who has made significant contributions to the prevention of mental disorders in children and adolescents and influenced the general well-being of young people. Funded by a bequest from Dr. Agnes Purcell McGavin.

APA Component

  • Council on Children, Adolescents, and Their Families
  • McGavin Award Selection Committee


  • A plaque
  • $1,500


  • A child/adolescent psychiatrist
  • Previous winners of the McGavin Award for Distinguished Career Achievement are eligible
  • Member of the McGavin Award Selection Committee are ineligible for the award for five years beginning with their first year on the committee

Nomination Requirements

  • Only an APA member may nominate individuals
  • Letter of recommendation
  • Nominee’s CV

Submission Information


June 30

Award Notification


Award Presentation

Presented at an appropriate child and adolescent psychiatry session during APA's Annual Meeting.

Staff Contact

Patrick Odai-Afotey
Program Manager


APA Awards

Each year APA honors individuals for career recognition, lifetime service, outstanding research, and other categories that improve the lives of people with mental illness.

Award Recipients

View previous recipients of APA awards.

View More

View All

2020 Annual Meeting
  • Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Sat,  Apr  25 - Wed,  Apr  29

APA Will Not Hold Its 2020 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Plans to Support the Learning Needs of Psychiatrists Through Online Education

2021 Annual Meeting
  • Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Sat,  May  01 - Wed,  May  05