Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents

The Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents recognizes APA members who have made outstanding and sustaining contributions to resident education in psychiatry in a salaried or voluntary capacity.




  • APA member
  • At least three years teaching at time of nomination

Nomination Requirements

  • The recommending institution may nominate only one candidate for each faculty category (voluntary and salaried)
  • Completed Chairperson Endorsement Form
  • Letter(s) of recommendation from the department chair and/or psychiatry residency training director documenting nominee’s specific and sustained contributions to resident education, including didactics, rounds, supervision, and excellence in different settings (e.g., psychiatry emergency services, inpatient, outpatient, community mental health, and specialized settings)
  • Nominee’s CV

Complete the Nomination Form


June 1, 2020

Award Notification

January 2021

Award Presentation

Via U.S. mail in January 2020

Contact Information


APA Awards

Each year APA honors individuals for career recognition, lifetime service, outstanding research, and other categories that improve the lives of people with mental illness.

Award Recipients

View previous recipients of APA awards.

View More

View All

2020 Annual Meeting
  • Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Sat,  Apr  25 - Wed,  Apr  29

APA Will Not Hold Its 2020 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Plans to Support the Learning Needs of Psychiatrists Through Online Education

2021 Annual Meeting
  • Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Sat,  May  01 - Wed,  May  05