Skip to content

Roeske Teaching Award

Established in 1989, this award is given to one salaried faculty member and one volunteer faculty member per each medical school, per year, for outstanding and sustained contributions to medical student education.

2023-2024 Award Recipients

  • Carmen Black, M.D. - Yale Psychiatry Residency Program
  • Hilary Connery, M.D., Ph.D. - MGH/McLean Adult Psychiatry Residency Training Program
  • Cynthia Conrad, M.D. - Yale Psychiatry Residency Program
  • Adriane Dela Cruz, M.D. - University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Mahmoud Hammouda, M.D. - Al-Azhar University
  • Scott Mariouw, M.D. - University of Michigan, Department Of Psychiatry
  • Wioleta Mazurczak, M.D. - Sanford School of Medicine
  • Meghan Schott, D.O. - Childrens National/George Washington University

Program Benefits


Criteria / Eligibility

Nominees must be APA members and Fellows with three or more years of involvement at the nominating institution.

Selection Criteria

Nominees for this award should have demonstrated evidence of work that includes significant and sustained contributions (at least three years at one institution) to the advancement of medical student education in one or more of the following categories: lecture; small group teaching; supervision; course design; course administration; departmental committees (curriculum, evaluation, and promotions); institutional committees (admissions, curriculum, student affairs, and promotions); career counseling; advising medical student psychiatry clubs; advising student groups; research, publications, and/or presentations in medical education; and extracurricular programs (e.g., student orientation and leading support groups).

Selection Process

The Selection Committee is comprised of members of the Council on Medical Education and Lifelong Learning. The final selection will be forwarded to the Joint Reference Committee and the APA Board of Trustees for final approval.

Nomination / Application Details

  • An open call for nominations will be published in APA communications.
  • Nominators must be department chairs or deans of the medical school, directors of medical student education in psychiatry, full-time members of the psychiatry department, and medical student and psychiatry residents. * Nomination must be endorsed by the Department chairperson.
  • Nominations must include the following information:
    • Cover sheet to include:
      • Nominee Name, Email, Preferred contact number.
      • Nominator Name, Email, Preferred contact number (if not a self-nomination).
    • Abbreviated CV (maximum two pages).
    • Completed Chairperson Endorsement Form
    • Letter of nomination, including activities such as lectures, small group teaching, course design, supervision, career counseling, research mentoring, relevant publications, and advising medical student groups.
    • A sampling of student evaluations; acknowledgments of teaching awards and commendations


June 1 of each year. Submissions will not be considered if they are incomplete or submitted after the deadline.

Apply Here


Awardee will be notified no later than January 31.

Award Presentation

Via U.S. mail and email. Awardees will also be posted on APA’s website.


  • Yadi Belay, Director, Office of Accreditation and Compliance at [email protected]
  • Ashley Turner, Sr. Program Manager, Office of Accreditation and Compliance at [email protected]

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today