Skip to content
Notification Image

Important! APA's Online Systems Updated.

Password reset will be required.

Read more here >

Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents

The Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents recognizes APA members who have made outstanding and sustaining contributions to resident education in psychiatry in a salaried or voluntary capacity.

Program Benefits


Criteria / Eligibility

  • APA member
  • At least three years teaching at time of nomination

Nomination / Application Details

  • The recommending institution may nominate only one candidate for each faculty category (voluntary and salaried)
  • Completed Chairperson Endorsement Form 
  • Letter(s) of recommendation from the department chair and/or psychiatry residency training director documenting nominee's specific and sustained contributions to resident education, including didactics, rounds, supervision, and excellence in different settings (e.g., psychiatry emergency services, inpatient, outpatient, community mental health, and specialized settings)
  • Nominee's CV


June 1, 2022


January 2023

Award Presentation

Via U.S. mail in January 2023


[email protected]

Award Recipients

  • Alëna Balasanova, M.D., Creighton University Department of Psychiatry
  • Cabrina Campbell, M.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Enrico Castillo, M.D., UCLA Psychiatry Residency
  • Renu Culas, M.D., Columbia University
  • Shaheen Darani, M.D., University of Toronto Psychiatry Residency Program
  • Nicole Fox, M.D., University of Washington
  • James Graham, M.D., Temple
  • Marilise Hyacinth, M.D., Yale SOM
  • Ayana Jordan, M.D., Yale SOM
  • Patrick McGrath, M.D., Columbia University
  • Eugenio Rothe, M.D., Citrus Health Network/FIU HWCOM Psychiatry Residency Program
  • Sunil Verma, M.D., Tower Health Brandywine Hospital
  • Art Walaszek, M.D., University of Wisconsin

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today