Skip to content

Warren Williams Assembly Speaker’s Award

The Warren Williams Assembly Speaker’s Award—established in 1984 in honor and memory of Warren Williams, M.D., Past Speaker of the Assembly (1972–1973) —recognizes recent or current outstanding activities or contributions in the field of psychiatry and mental health.


APA Area Councils

Program Benefits

Each Area Council of the Assembly has $1,000 to bestow annually and may choose to divide the fund among more than one recipient, Certificate

Criteria / Eligibility

The Area Councils have wide discretion in selecting people or programs to recognize for outstanding contributions to the field of psychiatry and mental health. Awards have been made to state and federal legislators, judges, reporters, journalists, and psychiatrists who have made significant contributions to their region, APA, and/or the field of psychiatry. A number of worthwhile programs have been recognized and funds were donated to their support, e.g., programs for the homeless, the chronically mentally ill, community support programs, and education and research activities.

Nomination / Application Details

Letter of recommendation

Contact the appropriate District Branch Representative to the Assembly and/or the Area Representative or Deputy Representative, who will bring the nomination to the Area Council. The Assembly Executive Committee ratifies these selections.


Discretion of Area Council


Discretion of Area Councils

Award Presentation

Presented at District Branch or Area meetings or during Assembly meetings.


Allison Moraske
[email protected]

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today