Skip to content

Oskar Pfister Award

The Oskar Pfister Award was established in 1983 in memory of Oskar Pfister, an ordained minister who studied and used psychoanalytic principles in his work. The award honors outstanding contributions in the field of psychiatry and religion. Funded by the Association of Professional Chaplains and the Harding Foundation.

Program Benefits

$1,000, Plaque, Award lecture at APA's Annual Meeting or Institute on Psychiatric Services

Criteria / Eligibility

Candidates for the award should be someone who has made outstanding contributions in the field of psychiatry and religion.

Selection Criteria

The Chair of the Caucus on Religion, Spirituality, and Psychiatry convenes a selection committee to review nominees.

Nomination / Application Details

  • Nominations can be submitted at
  • An open call for nominations will be published in APA communications.
  • Self-nominations and nominations by a colleague are accepted.
  • Nominations must include the following information:
    • A Letter of Recommendation.
    • The nominee’s current CV and bibliography.


August 15


After the APAF Board of Directors confirms the awardees, typically in November.

Award Presentation

Award presented at the APA Annual Meeting during the Pfister Award Lecture.


APA Foundation
[email protected]

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today