Skip to content

O’Leary Award for Innovation in Psychiatry Endowment Campaign

Help Us Reach Our $150,000 Goal!

Rorschach ties and scarf designed by Drs. Paul and Malinda OLeary

The O'Leary Award for Innovation in Psychiatry fund will provide seed money to launch innovative ideas that serve Minority/Underrepresented (M/UR) communities.

Donate to the fund online, make a pledge (.pdf), or text OLEARY to 44321 to give.

Donors of $1,000+ will receive a Rorschach tie or scarf designed by Drs. Paul and Malinda O’Leary.

Donate Online

Make a Pledge (.pdf)

Dr. Paul J. O'Leary's Legacy and the Award

Paul O'Leary

Dr. O'Leary’s servant leadership to APA and our members was extensive, exemplary and inspiring. Among other duties, he served as APA Assembly Speaker and Vice Chair of the Executive Committee; a member of the APA Committee on Advocacy and Litigation Funding; a member of the APA Political Action Committee Board of Directors; and a member of the APA Delegation to the American Medical Association.

As native of Alabama, it is fitting that Dr. O'Leary’s public statement of purpose was, “Never Worry Alone.” Friends and colleagues remember his efforts to promote strong mentoring relationships, particularly among early career psychiatrists to reduce burnout and promote job satisfaction. Notably, he received the Assembly Member-in-Training (MIT) Mentor Award for his work with residents and early career psychiatrists in 2013.

The first Paul O'Leary Innovation in Psychiatry Award will be presented in 2023 at APA’s Annual Meeting. Applicants in all levels of their careers will be welcomed. Applications will be accepted starting early 2023.

The strongest award applicants will reflect Dr. O'Leary’s values and will include:

  • Initiatives that improve the quality of and access to mental health care in communities, as well as that of behavioral health care teams.
  • Ideas that focus on crisis de-escalation, stabilization and wrap-around services to support recovery.

Donate Here

Donor Honor Roll, $1,000+

APA Board of Trustee members showing off the Rorschach ties they received for donating more than $1,000 to the endowment campaign
  • Debra Atkisson, M.D.
  • Rebecca Brendel, M.D.
  • David Burrow, M.D.
  • Kenneth Certa, M.D.
  • Jasleen Chhatwal, M.D.
  • Clarence Chou, M.D.
  • Jason Curry, D.O.
  • Daniel Carl Dahl, M.D.
  • A. Evan Eyler, M.D.
  • Jacqueline Maus Feldman, M.D.
  • William Greenberg, M.D.
  • Brian Hart, M.D.
  • Edward Richard Herman, M.D.
  • Ray Hsiao, M.D.
  • Nina Kraguljac, D.O.
  • Saul Levin, M.D., M.P.A., FRCP-E, FRCPsych
  • Edward Lewis, M.D.
  • Sheri Long, Ph.D.
  • Adam Nelson, M.D.
  • Malinda Blair O'Leary, Ph.D.
  • Manuel N. Pacheco, M.D.
  • Vasilis Pozios, M.D.
  • Bruce Jan Schwartz, M.D.
  • Patricia Westmoreland, M.D.
  • Mark Wright, M.D.

Thank you for your consideration of support!

Donate Here

Questions? Please contact APA Foundation at [email protected].

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today