2021 APA Election

View the 2021 APA Election Results.

Election Results

Rebecca W. Brendel, M.D., J.D. 60.6%
Jacqueline Maus Feldman, M.D. 39.4%
Sandra M. DeJong, M.D., M.Sc. 53.9%
Rahn K. Bailey, M.D. 46.1%
Early Career Psychiatrist (ECP) Trustee*
Elie G. Aoun, M.D., M.R.O. 32.3% 36.9% 50.1%
Tanuja Gandhi, M.D. 27.9% 33.8% 49.9%
Krysti (Lan Chi) Vo, M.D. 24.9% 29.3%  
Chandan Khandai, M.D., M.S. 15.0%    
Minority/Underrepresented Representative (M/UR) Trustee
Felix Torres, M.D., M.B.A. 62.2%
Oscar E. Perez, M.D. 37.8%
Area 1 Trustee
Eric M. Plakun, M.D. 55.9%
Maureen Sayres Van Niel, M.D. 44.1%
Area 4 Trustee
Cheryl D. Wills, M.D. 58.7%
Theadia L. Carey, M.D., M.S. 41.3%
Area 7 Trustee
Mary Hasbah Roessel, M.D. 63.0%
Annette M. Matthews, M.D. 37.0%
Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect (RFMTE)*
Urooj Yazdani, M.D. 41.8% 56.8%
Souparno Mitra, M.D. 30.8% 43.2%
Lindsay M. Poplinski, D.O. 27.4%  

*A majority vote (>50%) is necessary in a contest with more than two candidates. If a majority does not exist after tallying all first-choice votes, voters' second-choice votes for the candidate with the least amount of first-choice votes are tallied and added to the remaining candidates' tallies.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible voters are currently active voting members of the APA not designated as a Medical Student or International Member. Members interested in running for office should review the eligibility requirement.

View More

Election Guidelines

Election Guidelines, developed by the Elections Committee and approved by the Board of Trustees are intended to provide a level playing field for candidates. Campaigning by candidates and supporters begins when the slate of candidates is announced by November 1.


2021 Election Schedule
Nomination Deadline September 1
Slate of Candidates Announced By November 5
Deadline for Petition Candidates November 10
Voting Begins January 4
Voting Deadline February 1 at 11:59 p.m. ET
Election Results Mid-February TBD
Transition of Leadership May 5