Skip to content
Notification Image

New Online Learning Center to Launch Summer 2023.

APA and SMI Adviser's enhanced Learning Center will improve user experience.

Learn more here >

Jenny L. Boyer, M.D., Ph.D., J.D.

Jenny L. Boyer, M.D., Ph.D., J.D.

Jenny L. Boyer, M.D., Ph.D., J.D.

Candidate for 2023 Secretary


A Message from the Candidate


Jenny L. Boyer, M.D., J.D., Ph.D. is Oklahoma-born, raised, and educated. She currently is a full-time tele-psychiatrist for the West Texas VA Health Care System, Big Spring, Texas. She was a licensed clinical psychologist for 15 years before she completed her medical degree at the University of Oklahoma School of Medicine. She is currently a Distinguished Life Fellow of the APA and a Board-Certified psychiatrist practicing in rural America. She was academically affiliated with both the University of Oklahoma Health Care System and the Oklahoma State University Health Care System, providing training and supervision to medical students and psychiatric residents until accepting her current tele-psychiatry position, where she is clinical/non-paid faculty at the Texas Tech Health Center, Odessa, Texas, supervising their residents in clinical practice. She remains a licensed attorney and physician (psychiatrist) in Oklahoma. Her private practice, community mental health clinic and larger organized medicine practice provide her with a unique perspective of how medicine/psychiatry is practiced in the rural center of our nation.

She has been involved in administrative and management committees during her professional career at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and at the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Centers. Given her legal, psychological, and medical/psychiatric training and experience, she has been involved in medical/mental health ethical issues at the patient, community, state and national level. This includes serving on local and national medical ethics committees, including the Oklahoma Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, the Oklahoma State Medical Association, the Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association and the Eastern Oklahoma and Oklahoma City VA HSCs. She is also a member of the Southern Psychiatric Association and the American College of Psychiatrists.

She has been active in local, state, and national medical organizations. She was President of the Tulsa Medical Association, President of the Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association (OPPA), Alternate AMA Delegate for the Oklahoma State Medical Association (OSMA) and most recently Chair, Governing Council, Senior Section, American Medical Association. She has been the Oklahoma representative to the Assembly of the American Psychiatric Association, and the APA’s Recorder, Speaker-Elect, and Speaker. She is currently the APA Trustee to the Board of Trustees for Area 5. Her involvement in the state (OSMA and OPPA) and national (AMA and APA) Advocacy programs includes, most recently (2021-2022) being Chairperson of the Governing Council, Senior Section of the AMA.


  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, University of Oklahoma
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Psychology), University of Oklahoma
  • Juris Doctor, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma
  • Doctor of Medicine, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • Preliminary Medicine Internship, Griffin Memorial Hospital
  • Psychiatry Residency, Griffin Memorial Hospital

Awards and Honors

  • Distinguished Fellow American Psychiatric Association (2014)
  • Gordon H. Deckert Award for Sustained Excellence in Departmental Education Endeavors, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center (2007)
  • Award for Most Supportive Attending Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center (2007)
  • Excellence in Clinical Supervision for the Medial Student Education Program Award, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center (2007)
  • Laughlin Fellow of the American College of Psychiatrists (2001)
  • National Leadership Veterans Administration Award (1990)
  • Certificate of Achievement, Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association (2001)
  • Award from the Oklahoma State Medical Association, Physicians’ Campaign for Healthier Oklahoma, Putting Prevention into Practice (2003)
  • Special Recognition Award, Oklahoma State Medical Association Journal Editorial Board for the Mental Health Issue, December (2008)
  • American Jurisprudence Award for Criminal Procedure, University of Oklahoma Law School (1979)
  • United States Law week Award for the Most Improved Scholarship during the Senior year of Law School, University of Oklahoma Law School (1979)


  • Kenneth Certa, M.D.
    Director, Adult Acute Psychiatric Services
    Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Harold Kudler, M.D.
    Associate Consulting Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
    Duke University School of Medicine
    Durham, North Carolina
  • Bruce Hershfield, M.D.
    Private practice
    Sparks, Maryland
  • Leslie Hartley Gise, M.D.
    Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry, John A Burns School of Medicine,
    University of Hawaii
    Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Bart Blinder, M.D., Ph.D.
    Clinical Professor
    University of California, Irvine
  • R. Rahn Kennedy Bailey, M.D.
    Professor & Head
    Department of Psychiatry
    Assistant Dean of Community Engagement Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
    Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
    New Orleans Louisiana
  • A. Evan Eyler, M.D., MPH
    Professor of Psychiatry
  • Robert Larner, M.D., College of Medicine at the University of Vermont
    University of Vermont Medical Center
    Burlington, Vermont
  • Barbara Schneidman, M.D., MPH
    Clinical Professor Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
    University of Washington School of Medicine
    Seattle, Washington
  • Debra Barnett, M.D.
    Private practice
    Tampa, Florida

Medical leadership for mind, brain and body.

Join Today