Provider Resources for Underserved Communities

Trackling the mental health needs of individuals living in underserved areas is a challenge.  In 2006 the APA established the Presidential Task Force to Review Psychiatric Needs in Underserved Areas.  The main goal of the task force was to identify ways to increase access to psychiatric services in underserved areas around the United States.  One of the products of the task force is the online clearinghouse of information developed and collected by the taskforce on topics relevant to mental health care in underserved areas. 

Comments, questions and information on additional resources can be emailed to


Primary Care Collaborations and Training Projects

Federal Manpower Shortage Areas

J-1 Visas

National Health Service Corps

Community Health Centers/Federally Qualified Health Centers

Rural Health

Resources on Diverse Populations and Disparities