Psychiatric Services Achievement Awards

2014 Award Year Application Process Now Closed.  

Awards for the 2014 winners will be given at the APA's Institute on Psychiatric Services October 30th and the list of winners posted on this webpage early October.


The application instructions for 2015 will be similar to those currently posted.  Look for the 2015 deadline late February/early March.

What we are looking for:

The goal of the Awards is to recognize and publicize national models of creative service delivery.The awards have been presented since 1949 to innovative programs that deliver services to people with mental illness or disabilities, have overcome obstacles, and can serve as models for other programs.  Programs can be based in a school, a clinic, a hospital, or the community itself, and can provide unique human resource development, prevention, or administrative models that improve clinical care. In order to be considered, programs must have been in full operation for a minimum of two years prior to the posted application deadline.   Questions? or 703.907.8612


Up to four awards may be given. The Achievement Awards Committee groups and selects two Gold Award winners -- one from academically or institutionally sponsored programs and one from community-based programs in the United States and Canada.  The Committee may also choose Silver and Bronze Award winners.


Awards are presented at the Institute on Psychiatric Services.  Winning programs are invited to present at a special afternoon workshop following the Opening Session and will receive coverage in two APA publications, Psychiatric News and Psychiatric Services.  Gold Award winners each receive $3,500, second- and third-place winners receive $2,000 and $1,000, respectively.  2013 APA Achievement Awards: Four Exemplary Programs,

2013 Award recipients

Directory of Gold Award Winners



PSAA Committee Portal