APA Teaching Awards

APA Vestermark Psychiatry Teaching Award
(Formerly The Seymour Vestermark Memorial Lectureship and Award)

The APA Vestermark Psychiatry Educator Award was established in 1969 in memory of Seymour Vestermark, M.D., who was chief of the National Institute of Mental Health Training Branch from 1948 to 1959 and an authority in the field of professional mental health education. This Award is concerned with excellence, leadership and creativity in the field of psychiatric education. It is jointly supported by the National Institute of Mental Health and the American Psychiatric Association, and is given annually to a psychiatric educator for outstanding contributions to the education and development of psychiatrists. It concentrates on the field of psychiatric education in its broad context, with special emphasis on preparation of teachers, use of new educational tools and improved teaching techniques in the field of mental health. The recipient may be asked to deliver an original address on an educational topic during the Annual Meeting. Recent awardees have included Drs. Charles Pinderhughes, Carol Nadelson, Robert Michels, Herbert Pardes, Carolyn Robinowitz, Joel Yager, Jonathan Borus, James Shore, Alan Stoudemire Leah Dickstein, Jerald Kay, Marc Galanter, Frederick Sierles, Eugene Beresin, Harold Pincus, Charles Nemeroff, Stephen Scheiber, Ronald Rieder, Victor Reus, Glen Gabbard, Richard Balon. Bryce Templeton and Jules Ranz. Dr. Geraldine Fox is the 2015 awardee and will present a lecture at the 2015 APA IPS meeting in New York.

The Vestermark Award Committee welcomes nominees for the 2016 Award. Nominations from the membership should be received by the Committee by August 29, 2015 for consideration for the 2016 Award. Supporting documents must include a curriculum vitae, including publications, and documentation of the nominee's experience as an educator as well as a supporting letter stating why the nominee should be considered for the Vestermark Award. The criteria by which a nominee will be judged include the following:

Contributions to Medical Education (Type and extent of educational activities, including):
- medical student education
- graduate education
- continuing education
- interdisciplinary programs
- research in education

Innovations in Education:
- improved teaching methods
- improved or new methods and strategies in evaluation
- exploration in new and/or neglected areas
- relation of education to service delivery and/or manpower utilization

Administrative Educational Contributions: Leadership in educational components of local and national academic organizations and/or institutions.

Publications Related to Education

Duration & Intensity of Commitment to Psychiatric Education

The Vestermark Award Committee will also consider peer evaluation (comments of colleagues, supervisors, etc.), student evaluation, and other awards, prizes, or commendations the nominee may have received.All nominations must be received at the APA by August 29, 2015, to be considered for the 2016 Award. Please address your recommendations to:

Vestermark Award Committee
Kay Acevedo, Division of Education
American Psychiatric Association
1000 Wilson Blvd., Suite #1825
Arlington, VA 22209-3901

All Previous Winners of the Vestermark Award (from 1969 to Present)

Other APA Teaching Awards:

Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents
Nancy C.A. Roeske, M.D., Certificate of Recognition for Excellence in Medical Student Education