Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees, composed of officers and trustees, elected by the membership, governs the Association. The power to make policy is vested in the Board, and the Board’s primary function is to formulate and implement the policies of the Association. The Board exercises all powers of the Association that are not otherwise assigned. Trustees are expected to attend all Board meetings and participate in the matters at hand, for they cannot delegate responsibility to govern or give a proxy vote. Area trustees are ex-officio members of their respective Area Councils. Meetings of the Board of Trustees occur five times a year.

Voting Members: President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past Presidents (3), Assembly Speaker, Assembly Speaker-Elect, Area Trustees (7), Trustee-at-Large, Minority/Under-Represented (MUR) Trustee, Early Career Psychiatrist (ECP) Trustee, Resident-Fellow Member Trustee (RFMT); Non-Voting Members: Past Presidents elected prior to 2000; Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect (RFMTE); Others in Attendance: Representatives from American Psychiatric Leadership Fellows, APA/SAMHSA or Diversity Leadership Fellows, APA Public Psychiatry Fellows, APA Medical Director/CEO

APA members interested in running for office should review the APA National Elections.