Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was established in 1964 by the Board of Trustees to honor an APA member, non-member, and/or organization who has contributed exceptional meritorious service to the field of psychiatry. Recipients are selected by an Executive Work Group, chaired by the APA President, and honored with a plaque at the Convocation Ceremony during the APA Annual Meeting.

2014 DSA Recipients

  • Carl Bell, M.D. 
  • David Fassler, M.D.
  • Ivan Goldberg, M.D.
  • Laura Roberts, M.D.
  • Joel Yager, M.D.
  • The Jed Foundation

Past DSA Recipients
Nominations should include the full name and contact information for the nominee as well as a 150 word statement and one to two page curriculum vitae describing the nominee's contributions to psychiatry. Nominations should be submitted to the APA staff liaison below. The nomination deadline is October 31.

Chiharu Tobita
Senior Projects Manager - Association Governance
Tel: (703) 907-8527 Fax: (703) 997-1292

Join APA