Jacob K. Javits Award for Public Service


On behalf of the American Psychiatric Association (APA), the Council on Advocacy and Government Relations presents the Jacob K. Javits Public Service Award annually to a public servant who has made a significant contribution to the mentally ill.  This is the highest award conferred upon a public servant by the APA, representing 36,000 psychiatric physicians nationwide, and their patients.  The Javits Award is given annually, alternately to a state public servant and a federal public servant.  Presenting the Javits Award gives APA the opportunity to showcase the work honorees provide on behalf of consumers and the fields of health care and mental health care. 

In 1986, the APA established the Jacob K. Javits Public Service Award to honor the legacy of a U.S. Senator from New York, Jacob K. Javits.  First elected in 1956, Senator Javits served for 24 years, using his position on the then-Labor and Public Welfare Committee to spearhead health-related legislation, achieving multiple successes on behalf of the mentally ill and on substance abuse issues.  In the name of this great statesman, the Council on Advocacy and Government Relations confers this award to federal and state public servants, who have earned recognition for outstanding contributions to the cause of the mentally ill.

Past Recipients

2014 – U.S. Senator Al Franken (D – MN)

2013 – Santa Clara County (CA) Superior Court Judge Stephen V. Manley

2012 – U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D – RI)

2011 – Kentucky State Representative Jimmie Lee

2010 – U.S. Senator Olympia Snowe (R – ME)  

2009 – California Assemblyman Jim Beall

2008 – U.S. Representative Lloyd Doggett (D– TX)

2007 – New Jersey State Senate President Richard J. Codey

2006 – U.S. Senator Gordon Smith (R –OR)